5

The words cut through me

Like compass needles in my thigh.
Like the time you pushed me in the pool,
And water replaced all air in my nose
When my throat and eyes burnt for hours

And you called it a fun game.

Your voice makes me wince
Each time you say a polite phrase
It seems like the worst taunt

When you hit my face
Broke my spirit
And called it love.

Your absence makes me wonder
If my heart can forget
Your relentless love and care
Your belief and pride and your

Faithlessness in myself.

It’s my turn to let go.
To save my soul
From you
Your Love

And myself.

Underwater/Overboard

No comments yet? Your thoughts are welcome.

